My Kuala Lumpur to Langkawi Island Trip: thrifty Backpacker

Do you want to travel to lots of places without getting broke? Well, you’re not alone. I’m a 20+ something girl who quits its current job with a little savings in hand to travel to different places in the world. (Bravery at its finest, isn’t it). My friend says “omg, you are the bravest girl we’ve ever met” (wish me luck girls I gonna need it for sure). People are asking why? – Well, I have my own reasons, even though it didn’t go as planned. Besides, life is full of surprises, right? Enjoy the ride! keep in mind that it can’t rain forever! It will be over soon. I’m not in for luxurious travel experience, I just wanted to keep it low-cost as possible. Nevertheless, what I really want is, to experience new culture, meet and make friends with multinational people, to learn lots of things by exploring great wonders of the world, and also to lend a helping hand to those who are in need.

Bus from Kuala Lumpur to Kuala Perlis to (ferry) Langkawi Island


I planned this trip overnight. ( yep! No buts! It’s now or never). I’ve read a couple of blogs on how I can get to Langkawi Island. With all the information I have gathered, I find out that I have 5 options to get there by BUS, TRAIN, TAXI, PLANE and by FERRY. I decided to take the bus from Kuala Lumpur on my way to Kuala Perlis – bus terminal station nearest to the jetty point (3-5 mins walk) where you can catch a ferry to Langkawi. This is the nearest and the cheapest way to Langkawi. Aside from that, there is also another jetty point -Kuala Kedah – to take you to Langkawi. If you will travel by train from Kuala Lumpur you can hop out either Alor setar or Arua depending on your drop off point then take bus to either kuala perlis or kuala kedah. Prices and traveling time differ. 


I bought my bus ticket at the ticket counter in TBS on the same day. You can also book in advance to prevent hassles and long queues or worst part you’ll run out of tickets ( peak seasons). In my case, there’s only few passengers in 1am departure time. I’m off the hood @ 1 am, the bus will be leaving from TBS ( Terminal Bersepadu Selatan) to Kuala Perlis. Traveling time is 6-7 hours estimated depending on the flow of traffic. The bus is spacious making your travel experience comfortable, it has reclining seats, air-conditioned — ahhh!! I completely passed out during the trip.

*if they have wifi on board – that would be amazing though some busses have it. Prices may differ*


The bus will only stop at Kangar Intercity Bus terminal. Don’t be confused, we’re just taking a little break here for few minutes, go to the washroom if you need to just inform the driver and make it quick as possible. Thereafter, the bus stops for toilet break several times depending on passenger’s demand.

After the long journey, I finally arrived at Kuala Perlis 👣 8:40am but the journey doesn’t end here. I still need to take a ferry to Langkawi Island. * hold on tight spider monkey, we’re close* .. Ferry ride cost 18RM for adults and 13RM for children. The ride takes 1 hour and 15 mins. Take note this is a high speed ferry. (Please fasten your seatbelt, we are going to fly, -just kidding). You can’t book ferry tickets to Langkawi in advance. The only choice is to queue for tickets at the ticket booth when you arrive to either Kuala Perlis or Kuala Kedah. The ferry leaves at Kuala Perlis to Kuah -a city in Langkawi- every hour or so. Last trip is 7pm.

I took the 9am trip. But sadly the ferry leaves around 9:45am. ( I already wasted so much time for the delays, and now it’s raining. Ohh nice! I’m in great timing!! ) The moment I arrived at Kuah it is already quarter to 12noon. I wasted no time, so I immediately head straight out the terminal and go, ready to slay.

Leave a Reply

